The House of Elyot

Under Saxonhurst’s Spell

Posted on: May 26, 2017

I have republished the third of my regained Xcite titles, but this time I have done it differently.

Saxonhurst Secrets was released in September 2011, but it never sold as well as the previous two titles. I think part of that was the more niche genre, and another the rather vague title, so I decided to change it.

The new title, Under Her Spell, makes it clear that there are paranormal elements and a strong female lead. In fact, the character of the book is something of a departure for me at that time, in that it wasn’t a specifically kinky BDSM read, and it actually had a plot (my first two books were essentially linked short story collections, and my third, Meeting Her Match, was more episodic than structured). Another big difference is that the ‘hero’ is a deeply repressed virgin – a clergyman struggling to fight the temptations of the flesh that assail him constantly in his depraved new parish.

It’s a kind of homage to one of my favourite films, The Wicker Man. Spoiler alert – it doesn’t end as horrifically! On re-reading, I enjoyed its quirkiness, my poor confused Adam, and the two strong but opposing female leads.

I didn’t enjoy its bad home-made cover, but alas, my Paypal account has run almost dry and I can’t afford schmancy cover art any more.

So, if you can ignore that, and you enjoy a tale of pastoral debauchery with paranormal elements, you might dig this.

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

