The House of Elyot

Am I What, Where, Who, Why?

Posted on: June 10, 2016

It’s taken me a while to come up with a plan.

Last year, I barely wrote a word. I don’t know if it was burn out, or if some vampire attacked me in my sleep and drained all the confidence out of me, but nothing was working and I had to stop even thinking about writing for a good, long time. The vampire didn’t even have the common decency to be sexy, the bastard. If it had been the Poldark one from Being Human I wouldn’t have minded so much.

This year, it’s a different story (thank god because the last one was very boring). Ideas are bursting out like the flowers that bloom in the spring, tra-la. But with the different story comes a different problem – what the hell do I do with them?

The erotica/erotic romance scene I entered eight years ago has gone through so many mutations that it’s now unrecognisable. Many of the imprints I liked to work with have shut down or changed in ways that don’t work for me.

Don’t get me wrong – there are imprints still running that I think do excellent work. Totally Bound is one of them – they have a great PR department, look lovely and publish some top-grade stuff. But with some others, there’s been a definite shift towards a softer approach, which I can cope with on some levels but not others (e.g. being asked to tone down my content so as not to scare the kink-curious post-50 Shades horses).

So I’ve decided to give self-publishing a serious go. It wasn’t something I ever really wanted to do, because I hate all the fiddle-faddle admin type stuff that goes along with it, but on the other hand, the freedom of it is something I need at the moment. A late-night Twitter conversation with Giselle Renarde and A.M. Hartnett (read their books!) gave me the final push, after much dithering.

So you can expect new material (along with some repackaged old material) in the near future – just as soon as I know what I’m doing.

Maybe not the ‘near’ future then…

3 Responses to "Am I What, Where, Who, Why?"

Glad to see your back at it. Woo hoo!
Take your time to figure out a plan that works for you. People will follow where you lead.
xoxo

This is great news! Look forward to more of your words. I had a year out too, health reasons. I used to be a hybrid author, but coming back self pub is the only path that seems right/sensible.. now. Hard work but it’s only a different kind of hard work to what we did working with publishers 😉 And, as you say you don’t have to change to fit their ideal.

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

