The House of Elyot

The Pact

Posted on: May 4, 2016

Fresh and ready for plucking is the new Mischief anthology, The Pact, which features my story Motivation, along with others by: Rose de Fer, Ashley Hind, Heather Towne, Lily Harlem, Kathleen Tudor, Giselle Renarde and Willow Sears.

Here’s the opening:

It had seemed like a good idea at the time.

The time was three months earlier, when I’d sat at the kitchen table moaning to Joe about all the extra work the evening at college would entail, and how I didn’t really have time for it.

“But if you want to get to the next level at work, you don’t really have any choice,” he’d said, quite reasonably. Annoyingly reasonably. “And they’re even paying for you to do it. You’d be mad to turn them down.”

“I know,” I whinged, “but I hate writing essays. And I’ll have to write one every fortnight. Three thousand words! It’ll kill me.”

“Of course it won’t. You can do it.” He turned around from his duties at the frying pan and pointed the spatula sternly at me. “There’s no excuse for not trying. I don’t want to be standing here in a year’s time listening to you going on and on about being passed over for promotion again.”

“OK,” I said meekly. “I’ll give it my best shot. But I really do struggle with writing essays. I’m all right once I get started – it just takes so long to get the first paragraph down. And I haven’t written one since I left college.”

“What’s the problem? Procrastination?”

“In a word. Leaving everything to the last minute, then not having enough time to think properly.”

Joe took this in quietly for a moment or two, nibbling at his lower lip in deep thought. I always found this sexy and I watched the muscles in his cheeks twitch and his eyes drift away from me before they snapped back and he spoke.

“Well, we can fix that,” he said, and my heart skipped a little, because he had That Look on his face. That Look was normally a prelude to the ribbon ties and the flogger coming out of the bottom drawer in the bedroom. I wasn’t sure how this would translate to the kitchen, but I was interested in finding out.

“Can we?”

“Yes, I think so. We’ll set aside an afternoon every weekend before your assignments are due in, for you to work. That time is non-negotiable working time, and by the end of it, you need to have your assignment finished and ready for me to look at. With me so far?”

“Yes,” I said. “Boring way to spend a Sunday afternoon, but I have to find the time somewhere, I suppose. What if it isn’t finished, though?”

“Ah,” he said, and That Look intensified to cuffs-and-riding-crop level. “If it isn’t finished – or even if it is, but I don’t think you’ve made your best effort – there will be consequences.”

He raised his eyebrows. I squirmed. I’d heard that word often enough to know what it led to. We’d only role-played this kind of dynamic before, but making it real was certainly an interesting idea.

“What kind of consequences?” I asked, but he knew I knew, and he shook his head at me.

“I’m surprised you have to ask, Claudia.” He only called me by my full name when he had me over his lap, as a rule. The use of it sped me straight into my most submissive headspace. “What’s the one thing guaranteed to improve your behaviour?”

I looked down at my lap. “Oh, that,” I said quietly.

“Yes, Claudia. That.” He tapped the spatula end lightly into his palm. “I can demonstrate if you like.”

“That won’t be necessary,” I said hurriedly. It wasn’t that I disliked being spanked, but that thing had been pushing eggs around the pan.

“So, do we have an agreement?”

“Well…” I twisted my fingers, exquisitely embarrassed by the thought that I was going to have to admit that only the threat of a spanking would suffice to get me out of my lazy habits. But, looking at Joe and that attractively determined cast of brow he got when the subject came up, I couldn’t fight it. “Yes. I guess so.”

“Good. Can you get the chips out of the oven, love? These eggs are just about done.”

 

If you’d like to read on, the book is available from Amazon and all good e-book outlets now!

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

