The House of Elyot

On Demand

Posted on: April 26, 2016

In December 2009, the big day finally arrived. After all the anxiety about the demise of Black Lace and the uncertainties of the future, On Demand was released.

I held my shiny author copies, with their beautiful covers (still one of my all-time favourites) and wondered if this meant I was really An Author.

I still can’t answer that question, to be honest.

On Demand was a mad book that came straight out of some weird corner of my brain without stopping to ask whether I really wanted it to. The brief was a book of short stories, but I struggle without a narrative thread to hang on to, so I linked them all up with a common setting, a number of recurring characters and one central tale-teller, the protagonist, Sophie.

I wanted to try something that wasn’t really done much in erotic romance – to have a female protagonist who was absolutely at one with her strong sex drive and didn’t see having an exclusive partner as essential to that. This was a risky idea, as even readers of dirty books will sometimes be moved to ‘slut shame’, but it paid off – six months later, On Demand was number one in erotica at Amazon UK, and the reception has always been broadly positive.

I love it still; love Sophie, love Lloyd (who was never ‘meant’ to get together with Sophie but somehow just made me do it) and love the whole crowd of hedonistic hotel gang-bangers. Long may they love and lust. Here they are, if you want to join them.

1fdfe-book

3 Responses to "On Demand"

I loved this book. My review only shows up on the U.S. Amazon site (“Demand your On Demand!” was the rallying cry you gave us, when our Amazon was slow to make your book available); but, as I opined, “The result here is the best of both worlds: while each item brings the satisfying reading experience of a self-contained tale that scoops us up, takes us for a super-sexy ride, and deposits us back on terra firma some twenty pages later, our overall investment in the individual characters and the community they collectively represent gradually builds, as it does in a conventional novel…. Each time we return to the thread of Sophie’s personal plot, she feels more like an old friend.”

Ohhh, I remember how happy that made me at the time – making me happy all over again now xxx.

(:v>

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

