The House of Elyot

The Affair

Posted on: April 22, 2016

The last of Black Lace’s anthologies – last ever, I think, since ‘new’ Black Lace have not commissioned any more since they returned to the market – was The Affair, released in November 2009.

This was a difficult brief to write for, as the title suggests adultery, which I don’t find particularly sexy – and I imagine the bulk of the readership would have felt the same. But of course, affairs don’t have to be extra-marital and, even if they are, they can occur with the knowledge and consent of both partners.

This was the tack I took in my story, The Interview. A husband vets the potential applicants for his wife’s second lover. The vetting takes a hands-on turn…

Stories by Charlotte Stein, Elizabeth Coldwell, Portia Da Costa, Kyoko Church, Shanna Germain, Primula Bond, Rachel Kramer Bussel, Janine Ashbless, Gwen Masters, Alegra Verde, Izzy French and K D Grace appeared alongside mine. Indeed, I think K D and I were thinking along close parallel lines, because her story is entitled Vetting The Affair.

I still miss being part of that ‘stable’ of really talented and amazing authors and wish I’d had longer to enjoy it. Plus, the book covers were wonderful; I’ve never found a publisher who did them better. Look at this beauty, for instance.

Of course, I’m speaking as a person who hates the oiled, rippling, six-pack school of book covers. I might be in a minority there though.

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

