The House of Elyot

Deep Indigo

Posted on: April 27, 2011

Can it really be the last week of the Noble Romance Authors Blog Tour? So many prizes given, new friends made and interesting conversations had – but next week it will all be over *sob*.

But – until then – let’s enjoy our swan song, and a wonderful interview with Indigo Skye, in her second guest appearance on my blog. She’s welcome any time – Indigo gives great interview!


1. Welcome to the blog – can you tell me a little bit about how you came to be a Noble author?

It all started with Scarlet! I got to know the author Keta Diablo through her posts on the Scarlet forum. She works with Noble Romance, as well as several other publishing houses, and has been very supportive and encouraging. We corresponded, and she granted me an exclusive interview on my blog to help promote her book, Where the Rain is Made. Keta read one of my short stories, “Cherry-Boy,” and passed it on to Jill Noble. This got my foot in the door-without an agent-and I submitted my manuscript for Her Captive Muse soon after. Keta was instrumental in helping me ready my manuscript for publication. She and the editors at Noble did a fantastic job of helping me make my story the best it could be.

2. My theme for 2011 is music. Is music important to you in your life and your writing?

My Muses love to listen to the blues. The words flow better when there’s music in the background. Music makes its way into my stories and my dreams.

3. Do you have a song that sums up the situation or relationships of any of your characters? (feel free to post if there are no copyright restrictions)

I think the song that sums up Brendan Delaney’s relationship with Morgan Roan is “Sweet Dreams,” by the Eurythmics. Annie Lennox’s vocals are amazing, and the lyrics really resonate with Brendan’s situation. “Some of them want to abuse you/Some of them want to be abused…”
Oh, that’s a big favourite of mine too, along with Love is a Stranger.

4. Do you listen to music while you write? Or have you ever been inspired by a piece of music to write a story?

I enjoy listening to all types of music. When I’m editing or working furiously to meet a deadline, I want something with a driving beat, so I’ll spin punk, rap, or hip-hop. I’m obsessed with The Stooges’ album, Fun House- a little Iggy Pop is better than a shot of espresso. If I’m working on a new creative project, I want something mellow in the background, so blues or jazz suits my mood when I’m in The Zone. I love Robert Johnson’s voice- I can always work with him around.

5. What songs do you consider especially romantic?
“Wish You Were Here,” by Pink Floyd. “Lilac Wine,” by Nina Simone.

6. What songs get you in a sexy mood?
Fiona Apple never fails to turn me on. She has such a sexy, intense voice, and her music is amazing. I’m currently spinning a bootleg Morphine CD that was recorded at a Detroit show- perfect for slow, sweet love-making on a Sunday morning! Nine Inch Nails’ Downward Spiral is a great album to get me in the mood for something kinky and wild.
Mmm, Nine Inch Nails…You have great taste, Indigo!

Here a little bit more about Ms Skye and her good works:

Indigo Skye is a writer and photographer living in the American Southwest. Her first novel, Her Captive Muse, was released by Noble Romance Publishers in January. Her work has been widely published online. Last fall, her short story “True Confession” was published in the anthology Uniform Behavior. A full list of her published works is available on her blog, Indigo Skye: Ink and Art- http://indigoskyeinkandart.blogspot.com.

Contact Information for Indigo Skye-
Email: indigoskyeinkandart@gmail.com
Blog: http://indigoskyeinkandart.blogspot.com
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/indigoinkandart
Buy Links for Her Captive Muse- https://www.nobleromance.com/ItemDisplay.aspx?i=235 http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004RYVKOU


When Brendan Delaney answered an ad for an artist’s model, he was looking for an easy way to earn some extra cash. But Morgan Roan wanted more than just a model. Soon, Brendan finds himself caught in a web of deception and desire, lust and betrayal—her captive muse. What price pleasure?

Buy Link for Uniform Behavior-
http://www.amazon.com/Uniform-Behaviour-ebook/dp/B004DI7PQM/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&s=digital-text&qid=1299693197&sr=8-6

Hurrah for a fellow Uniform Behaviour author! Thanks for stopping by, Indigo.

Leave a comment for a chance to win big, then take your tapping fingers over to H C Brown’s blog, where Bianca Sommerland is waiting for you.

10 Responses to "Deep Indigo"

I like the look of the cover for Her Captive Muse. It’s nice to see a woman in charge 🙂 Great interview, Indigo. Makes me think I should start listening to music when I write.

Hello All! This week, I’ll be giving away copies of my book, “Her Captive Muse,” at each stop on our blog tour. I’ll also be sending lucky winners home with copies of our anthology, “Red Roses and Shattered Glass” and my short story, “Cherry-Boy.” Everyone who comments on my posts this week will be entered into a random drawing for a gift card to All Romance E-Books! To enter, just leave a comment here- and don’t forget to include your email address, so I can get in touch with the lucky winners!

Justine, thank you so much for hosting me during our final week of Blog Tour Insanity! It’s been a wild ride!

MWAH!
-Indigo Skye

Heh. Scarlet has such a lot to answer for – that’s where I got started, too! 🙂

lucy (at) lucyfelthouse (dot) co (dot) uk

Great interview, you have a wide variety of music that you listen to. Love the cover for the book!

skpetal at hotmail dot com

I enjoyed the post; it was enteraining and informative. Her Captive Muse’s book cover rocks!!! I love it.

Thanks,
Tracey D
booklover0226 at gmail dot com

This blog hop has been fun. I really like the look of your book.
It’s been added to my TBR.

lillieblue613(at)gmail(dot)com

I have a copy of “Her Captive Muse” and cannot wait to read!!

staniszeski3824@comcast.net

Great interview. It’s been so great getting to know all you authors!
mara
marajbrandon@earthlink.net

Great interview, I have a surprisingly wide variety of music that I love, too!

pickpack@fidnet.com

Hello All. Thank you so much for following our tour. I really appreciate your comments on my blog. Each and every one of you has been entered into the drawing for our grand prize. I’ll also be picking one lucky winner to receive a gift card from All-Romance e-books. Erika, you’re the lucky winner of our anthology,”Red Roses & Shattered Glass.” Andrea, you’ll be taking home a copy of my e-book, “Her Captive Muse.” As for the rest of you, I have seen your shiny faces on the tour all along the way, encouraging me. I love it! Thank you so much for following our tour. If you’ve won before, you can win again- and so I’m asking each and everyone of you to connect with me for the prize of your choice. Get in touch via email with me at indigoskyeinkandart@gmail.com to claim your prize. Simply put the title of the desired prize in the subject line and shoot me an email to indigoskyeinkandart@gmail.com. The choices are, “HEr Captive Muse,” “Red Roses & Shattered Glass” and my short story, “Cherry -Boy.” Looking forward to hearing from you, and thanks again for following our tour.

Typing with Sticky Fingers,

-Indigo

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

