The House of Elyot

Try To Comprehend That Which You’ll Never Comprehend

Posted on: April 13, 2011

Today I welcome a lady who aims to thrill you – the delightful Mindy MacKay. Take it away, Mindy!

Hi there, everyone! Well, as you’ve probably figured by now, I’m Mindy MacKay, author of Fallen from Disgrace, here for the Noble Blog Tour, here to give my two cents on Justine’s theme of music. So, let’s talk music!

People who know me personally know that music is one of my various obsessions, and a rather large one at that. Ordinarily, I’ve got entire playlists for my novels and works in progress. Fallen was a special case, though. Despite the libraries upon libraries of music on my computer, I could only find one theme song in particular that seemed to fit.

The title of this post is a lyric from the song. It’s called Bleed Like Me, by Garbage. I played it on repeat quite a few times during the editing process, and I feel it captures the feel of Fallen perfectly. The song is essentially about a bunch of misunderstood people who sublimate their problems in different, and in some cases, destructive, ways–anyone who’s listened carefully to the lyrics will recognize references to Avalanche’s eating disorder, the self-injurious Doodle, and JT’s alcoholism. Try to comprehend that which you’ll never comprehend is an appeal to the listener, and above all a call not to judge. That’s exactly the attitude I was trying to get across when I first conceived Fallen.

Don’t get me wrong. My protagonist, Rosella, (I don’t use the word heroine here because she doesn’t have a heroic bone in her body), gets closer to irredeemable than any other character I’ve ever written. The thing about her characterization, though, is her monstrosity is mostly due to society’s alienation. All it takes to turn her around is for someone to try to comprehend. In essence, I’ve spent 50k+ words attempting to humanize the seemingly inhuman, and hopefully I’ve done a decent job.

Well, that’s my timeslot for today. Drop by, Youtube the song and share your thoughts about the composition, and thanks so much to Justine for having me!
Thank you for coming, Mindy – I love a bit of Garbage too and the book sounds fascinating – I’m always interested in an anti-heroine.

Now push that button and find me…I’m waiting for that special poster to give a $20 AllRomance voucher to!

7 Responses to "Try To Comprehend That Which You’ll Never Comprehend"

It’s been awhile since I’ve checked out that type of music. I’ll have to go to YouTube and listen. I love the cover of your book.

lillieblue613(at)gmail(dot)com

Your post has me interested in what the music is, I must go check out you tube so I can listen to it.

skpetal at hotmail dot com

Count me in as checking out youtube!!

pickpack@fidnet.com

You had me at the Hendrix poster in your promo pic :D. Sheer genius.

I love Garbage. I’ll have to check out the song. Thanks for participating in the hop.
jepebATverizonDOTnet

Wow,

I absolutely love, love, love Garbage! I can’t believe that Bleeding Love played such an important role in your editing process. Thanks for opening up to your readers/followers, and for participating in this very generous hop! 😀

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

