The House of Elyot

It’s Alive! And Here’s Sarah Ballance!

Posted on: April 5, 2011

I’m delighted to welcome my first guest on the Noble Romance Authors Blog Tour – the wonderful Sarah Ballance.

A full-time author and mom, Sarah writes romance and romantic suspense from a spot suspiciously close to the setting of her second novel, RUN TO YOU – a sexy beach-inspired mystery with a murderous plot.  She and her husband of nearly 14 years (he calls them “long, LONG” years) have six young children together, all of whom are adorable when they’re asleep. The aforementioned husband oversees the household each evening so Sarah can write, further demonstrating his commitment to the cause by volunteering to help her research “the good parts.”  (She’s never had to ask twice.)

  1. Welcome to the blog – can you tell me a little bit about how you came to be a Noble author?

Sheer luck!  I wrote nonfiction and had no plans of ever taking the leap into fiction.  All it took was me telling someone “I can’t” for me to realize I would, if nothing else than to prove myself wrong.  Six months later I’d finished my first novel, and after some basic research I chose to submit to Noble.  My screening process started and ended with the fact that I couldn’t dredge up anything negative about them, and that was enough for me at the time.   Fortunately they meet my newer, much more informed standards as well, LOL.

  1. My theme for 2011 is music. Is music important to you in your life and your writing?

It somewhat surprises me, but yes, it is.  Music is linked to every one of my stories in ways I can’t explain.  It breathes an energy into me that I can pour into my work, building a near-tangible connection between myself and my characters.  I don’t think I could write without it.

  1. Do you have a song that sums up the situation or relationships of any of your characters? (feel free to post if there are no copyright restrictions) Do you listen to music while you write? Or have you ever been inspired by a piece of music to write a story?

I’m not sure how this happened, but each of my stories has a theme song of sorts.  The words themselves aren’t always related to the plot, but the song catches the spirit of the work.  By the time I’m deep in a manuscript, the song is so intertwined with my words that it feels like an old friend – one of the uber-inspiring variety, LOL.

  1. What songs do you consider especially romantic?

I guess I’m showing my age, but I love 80s country.  My husband and I dated to a lot of that music (although even at the time they were the “old songs”) so all it takes is a note and I’m back to those first feelings of love.  It doesn’t even matter what the song is about – it’s all there when I think about him.  I also like the 80s “hair” bands – Bon Jovi, Motley Crue, Guns N Roses, Poison … who knew they’d ever be considered romantic?  LOL.  It’s just that awesome feeling I get.  Love it!

  1. What songs get you in a sexy mood?

Any song I love will do it.  Once I’m in a music-induced stupor of happiness, anything goes.  (Or, uh, make that almost anything. Don’t want to give the H any more ideas … he’s had plenty on his own!)

Places to find Sarah Ballance:

Website

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Mattie James can’t pinpoint exactly when she lost control of her life, but the moment she decided to take it back made the front page of the local paper. Desperate to dodge the fallout— and the tabloids—she jumps at the chance to spend an off-season week in a tiny resort community by the sea. Making the trip with her ex-lover is a complication she can live with; coming face to face with a dead woman is not.

The last thing Sheriff Wyatt Reed expected to find on the storm-ravaged beach was a beautiful blonde with a jealous sidekick, but one look at Mattie left him wanting more. Their first date takes an ominous turn when he gets the call that a woman was found murdered. With a killer on the loose and a troubling lack of suspects or motive, Wyatt has to put his feelings aside to focus on the case. But his vow not to become personally involved is shattered when he discovers Mattie’s life is on the line, and this time the truth leaves her with a deadly choice . . . and nowhere to run.

BUY LINKS:

KindlePDF, EPUB, MobiPocket, or Microsoft Reader formats

Thanks so much for having me!  Readers, you can continue the Noble Authors Blot Tour by clicking here to check out Justine’s interview with Cherie – or, to be sure of being entered for the grand prize, just push the button!

14 Responses to "It’s Alive! And Here’s Sarah Ballance!"

Hi Sarah!

Nice to see you…kinda. Don’t hide those eyes. ::grins::

I enjoyed your interview. I’m a very musical person when it comes to inspiration. I like the theme for the interview and your answers.

Btw…I really like the blurb! I hope the tour brings you much success.

All my best,
AyVee
Allure Van Sanz

Thanks, AyVee! (I love the nickname – I tried to comment elsewhere and lost the comment, so I need to go back, lol). Nice to see you here – LOTSA luck on the prizes, girl!

Great interview! 🙂

lucy (at) lucyfelthouse (dot) co (dot) uk

Hi, Lucy! We’ll be good friends by the end of the tour, lol. Thanks so much for your support! I’m honored to have you as part of the Noble family and I hope you love it there as much as I do!

Enjoyed the interview. You aren’t the only one who likes 80’s country!

skpetal at hotmail dot com

Hi, Jean! Ooh, I get shivers just thinking about 80s country! I won’t comment on how old I feel, though. (Grocery store music can be awesome, music from my childhood is on the “oldies” station, and I don’t get ID’d anymore. And I’m 33! Whatta life, LOL!)

Love how music is hooked to all your writings!! I think music breathes life into me too … wish it would pick up my pen and write for me! LOL
Ade

Ade … *stern look* YOU pick up the pen … er, keyboard. YOU have MAD talent! I’m looking forward to your release day. WRITE, woman! And thanks for the visit!

Hello, Sarah Ballance! And HELLO there, Wyatt in bigger than life color. That hunk!
Good to see you, and I enjoyed your interview!

Hi, Carol! I guess there ARE perks to having to see me everywhere – the cover is everywhere, too! LOL. Thanks for the visit!

I’m sorry Sarah, but I cracked up at the whole don’t give your H anymore ideas, he has enough of his own. It’s interesting to read about the whole why you wrote your first fiction, I think it’s the first time I’ve seen that. Can’t wait for more!

Yay! I’m glad you got some new information out of me, LOL. Good to see you, Carrie-Lynn!

Ugh. 80
s hair bands. I think that is the ONE thing that differs between us. I can’t stand them! (except for Bon Jovi) Music is a BIG writing tool for me as well!

*GASP* choke … wheeze … ROFL! Well, I guess it couldn’t have been *that* perfect, could it? LOL. It’s okay, I think we’ll manage just fine. ;c) There’s always Bon Jovi ….

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

