The House of Elyot

Fine and Dandy

Posted on: February 27, 2011

Who was  your first music crush? Come on – spill! Was it Donny Osmond with his puppy eyes, calling it puppy love? Was it Madonna, thrusting her conical bra in your direction? Was it Aled Jones? Christ, was it really? Noooo.

Here is mine:

From the moment Monica and Jo brought a cassette player into school and played Antmusic in the playground, I was an Antfan, and when I saw the promotional video for Stand and Deliver on Top of the Pops – well, that was it. I had found love.

I took my 99p and I ran as fast as my chubby little legs would carry me to Woolworths on the parade and I bought my seven inches of flamboyant posturing  joy the very next Saturday.

Not only was there stage make-up and heavy drumming, but there were duelling pistols and black horses and women with beauty patches on their faces. It was all too, too perfect for this embryonic bodice-ripper.

For most of 1980 and 1981 Monica, Jo and I sat in the cloakrooms, avoiding the dinner ladies, alternately raving over Adam and his Ants and playing Simon (remember Simon?)

Our other great obsession was Abba’s Super Trouper album, but we don’t talk about that.

Because Sony music are killjoys won’t allow embedding from YouTube, I can’t show you the song and video in all their glory. What a crock. But if you’ve never seen it, please do go and have a look.

6 Responses to "Fine and Dandy"

I think I might be with you on that one, but I’m I was either too young for music shop frequenting or possibly out in the countryside where there were none at that stage.

But, god, highwaymen… the fetish remains!

Lovely as Adam was, I think the highwayman angle was what did it for me. I never liked any of his subsequent records as much.

I think the highwayman story will have to be written one day…

First, I do remember Simon! Hahaha.

Funnily, I feel like my current music crushes have sometimes seemed about as ridiculously intense as those I experienced in my pre-pubescent years, but moving along, let’s see, I think my first was in the era of New Kids on the Block, and it was Joe. He still exemplifies one of the “types” I have found attractive—the “cute,” youngish-looking, pretty boy type. 🙂 (Of course, my number one now is Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day [picture here], who really looks not like that at all….)

Ah, music crushes—I would say the topic makes me nostalgic, but, um, since I’m still experiencing them, that wouldn’t make much sense, would it?

Xoxox 🙂

I still get them all the time too. I remember everyone raving about Donnie from NKOTB, but Joe was def prettier.

Snap! I think Adam Ant has a lot to answer for considering he inspired more than a little of my later output. Yep, remember Simon too. I believe I owned one.

Aha, I wondered if you were a fan! We have a lot to thank the lovely Adam for.

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

