The House of Elyot

Chorus of Approval

Posted on: January 30, 2011

My heart has been warmed this chilly week by kind words written about The Choirmaster.

Before I started writing for publication, I posted prolifically to various online writing communities, and I became used to getting speedy and generous reactions to everything I wrote within a few hours of uploading it. Publishing is a different kettle of feedback fish altogether; on releasing a book or story, I have this sense of flinging it out into a vast universe where it has to take its chances. Maybe somebody will read it. Maybe nobody will. You can never count on any recognition at all in a crowded marketplace.

I was relieved and delighted, then, to get three reviews for the story of Matthew and Loveday. Here are excerpts from all three.

” …I would love to hear more about (Matthew) and Loveday, and more than anything I think that’s the sign of an outstanding book. The ending was great…yet I didn’t want it to end.

If you like the BDSM genre, and want an intriguing love story, pick up The Choirmaster by Justine Elyot. I was truly glad I did.”

(review by Zoe at Readers’ Roundtable)

“The Choirmaster reads like an urban fairytale…Elyot lets her huge voice and huge passion for life shine through…Highlights for me included: London! Amsterdam! – the hurt/comfort angle that felt intense but never too overwrought – the vivid descriptions of the music and being in a choir – Loveday’s physicality (I wanted to pick her up and cuddle her) – Matthew in general (deliciously certain about what he wants from life while being an all-around decent bloke – that kind of quiet confidence is HOT).”

(review by Rachel Randall at Goodreads)

“I really enjoyed this book, especially because of the overwhelming heartfelt scenes of self-discovery.”

(review by Danielle at Coffee Time Romance)

January is almost over, so I’m going to leave Matthew and Loveday to their shiny new life and move onward to February, which will be altogether more operatic. In the meantime, here is the final piece mentioned in the book – a Christmas song, but I hope you can forgive me for that – the beautiful Sing Lullaby by Herbert Howells.

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

