The House of Elyot

Waiting For News

Posted on: January 16, 2011

I remember last January. It was a desolate month for many reasons, but one of them was the day after day after day of nothing in the inbox, nothing in the post. I’m not a patient person by nature and I’m hoping there isn’t a purgatory, because the wait for the celestial thumbs-up or -down would inevitably drive me to commit some heinous act, thus condemning me to the eternal flame by default.

So I wasn’t expecting much of this month. But it has been altogether different – full of news, gossip, reviews, excitement. What has made the difference? A year of sheer graft, I think. I was inclined to view 2010 as a bit of a write-off, but now all the tedious spadework I put in seems to be paying off. Things Are Happening.

I have a contract with Carina Press, who will publish my erotica novel (tentatively entitled Amusements) in late summer/early autumn.

I am writing three (count ’em) other novels, in between various shorter pieces, and enjoying every minute.

My story Just Watch Me is the free sample from the anthology Kinky Girls at the Xcite website just now.

And I had news this week that my story, Mephisto Waltz will appear in Rachel Kramer Bussel’s anthology for Cleis Press Obsessed.

Last January has already been beaten into a cocked hat, and we’re only halfway through. I’m ready for whatever the rest of the month has to throw at me.

5 Responses to "Waiting For News"

Like!

And wishing I could embrace hard work and bravery*

Cheers, Jo! Though it’s more drudgery than bravery ;).

Congratulations, Justine. It’s lovely to hear so many things are coming together for you.

Lovely of you to say so, RG. I hope 2011 brings you new and wonderful things.

Now that is a lot of really stellar news! I’m not surprised by all the success you’re having, of course — you’re a true talent. Congratulations, Justine!

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

