The House of Elyot

The Remains of the Year

Posted on: December 27, 2010

For me, 2010 was not a very good year. The calendar was full of funerals and dates for operations. Bad things happened to family members, friends, friends of friends. People were lost, most before their time. So I’ll be relieved to chuck that 2010 calendar into the bin and open a new, optimistically blank, one. I think 2011 must be better.

There were good things in 2010, though. Here are a few of the many.

Three Short Stories That Caught My Eye

Of course, there are many more, but these are the ones that have stuck most firmly in my memory:

1. Red Shoes Redux by Nikki Magennis from Alison’s Wonderland, edited by Alison Tyler, published by Harlequin Spice.

2. The Red Brassiere by EllaRegina from Sex In The City: Paris, edited by Maxim Jakubowski, published by Xcite.

3. Pleasure’s Apprentice by Remittance Girl, available to read at remittancegirl.com

(Seems I have a red thing going on this year.)

Two Websites I Have Taken to My Heart

1. Erotica For All – everything an erotica fan could want or need to know, courtesy of the brilliant Lucy Felthouse.

2. Madame Guillotine – because who the hell doesn’t love Victorian prostitutes, great empresses of Hapsburg and Bourbon Europe, alleyways and gin?

One To Watch for 2011

One writer who has impressed me this year with her scope and versatility is Lana Fox. She looks at the subjects of sex and sexuality in a grown-up, joined-up way, writing commentary as well as beautifully considered erotica. I will be very interested to see where 2011 takes her.

Of course, there were lots and lots of other things. Wonderful anthologies; tip-top new novels from Charlotte Stein, K D Grace, Madelynne Ellis, Jeremy Edwards and many more; promising new voices breaking through the barriers all over the place.

In 2011 I know there is a lot to look forward to. So that’s where I’m going to look now. Forward.

20 Responses to "The Remains of the Year"

And, hopefully, Paris!

Paris in the springtime – I’m counting the pennies :).

Best, best wishes for 2011, dear JE. I sincerely hope your new year is full of good things, and good things only.

(And thanks for the shout-out!)

Straight back at ya, JE. I hope 2011 is filled with fabulous successes for you.

I’m so flattered, Justine! Thank you so much. Your good opinion counts for a great deal indeed. Happy 2011!

Happy and productive 2011 to you! I have so enjoyed reading your work this year – here’s to much, much more where that came from.

Thank you so much, Justine! I am honored to be in such esteemed company, sandwiched deliciously between a slice of Nikki Magennis and Remittance Girl.

This year has not been so grand for me, either. Here’s to better times for everyone in 2011. I raise my glass in a toast.

xoxo

ELLA! You’re here! So sorry to hear that 2010 has been a bust for you too :(. I am raising my glass and clinking with yours – happy 2011, my dear.

Oh, Justine, I’m so sorry to hear you had a tough year. Sometimes a fresh start is just what we feel we need, isn’t it? Wishing you all the best for 2011.

(And thank you so much for the lovely compliment!)

Yes, a fresh start is called for, and I’m feeling very positive about the new year now. I wish you lots of love, luck and good times for 2011 (and lots of new stories too).

I heard you’d had a tough time, Justine. Here’s to dumping 2010 in the trash and starting with a brand new, sparkly, lovely year that just keeps getting better. All my best!

Thank you! Sparkly, lovely and full of Ashbless goodness in story and novel form, I hope!

As you know I almost lost Felix this time last year. I can’t bear to think of it – doctor said, “The next few days will tell” at exactly this time a year ago. Gack! So, yeah, 2010 was a toughie but who knows, maybe we’ll get the equivalent of the roaring twenties or something, now. I’d like that. Good luck to you, Justine, and all the folks who visit your site.
xoxo Mad

Oh yes, we must have our roaring twenties! I’ll drink to that. Happy new year to you and Felix – may all your dreams come true x.

Justine, I am enjoying your story. You have such a unique voice. 🙂 I wish you a very successful and happy new year.

Squee, how lovely to see you here, Jill! And thanks for the kind words about the story – I’m so excited for Monday. There will be BIG blog posts here about it :D.

happy new year justine!:-)

Big Happy New Year hugs to you, Danielle :D.

Sorry to see that you’ve had a bad year – hope next year is glorious for you! 🙂

Thanks so much for the mention! xxx

Ack! Justine, thank you so much for the marvelous recommendation. Unfortunately, the story is no longer up at my site, because it was included in Violet Blue’s Best Women’s Erotica 2012.

However, it is still up in the ERWA Treasure Box:
http://erotica-readers.com/GD/TC-EF/Pleasures_Apprentice.htm

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Leave a Reply

Book of the Month

